University of Mississippi

Student Writing Awards

The 2014 Cynthia Krieser Award for Outstanding Freshman Writing

Established in 1990 in memory of Cynthia Krieser.
These awards are made annually to first-year composition students who exhibit outstanding writing skills.

The Cynthia Krieser Award for Outstanding Freshman Writing is made possible by the Cynthia Krieser English Award Endowment fund, the purpose of which is to honor in perpetuity the late Cynthia Krieser and at the same time recognize outstanding first-year composition writing. This fund is open to and shall accept gifts from persons, estates, organizations, and any others who desire to make a gift and each gift, when made through the University of Mississippi Foundation, shall be fully tax-deductible. We invite inquiries, which should be directed to the director of the CWR; email inquiries may be sent to, with Krieser Fund in the subject line.

The 2014 Cynthia Krieser Award for Outstanding Freshman Writing Nomination Instructions

Due Date

Submissions may be made throughout the calendar year. Awards will be presented by end of the end of the fall semester by a committee convened by the director of the first year writing program.


The award will be made to a student who nominates himself or herself or who has been nominated by her or his writing instructor(s). The recipient of the award for exceptional writing receives $400.00.*


This annual award is open to all students with freshman status in CWR courses from Spring 2014, Summer 2014, and Fall 2014. Nominations may be made by CWR teachers of record for coursework submitted by one of their freshman students in the calendar year 2013;  self-nominations are also accepted.**

Note: Students do not have to have freshman status at the time of the award – their freshman status applies to the time their writing projects were completed.***


Send an email to with the Subject Line “Krieser Award Inquiry,” or call 662-915-2121.


Nominate a Student


2013 Krieser Award Winner:

2012 Krieser Award Winners:

  • LaKeith Faulkner
  • Matthew Fernandez
  • Tiffani Nye

* Awards are processed to students via their university bursar accounts.
** The CWR Associate Director shall ensure that teachers do not judge their own students’ writing. One submission per section taught maximum.
*** Awarded essays may be published in the annual edition of the CWR Best Practices Guide as exemplars of student writing using Creative Commons licensing; however, no publication will be made without the written consent of the student.
**** Nominations will be accepted from any teacher who taught a CWR first-year composition course during the 2013 calendar year, regardless of whether he or she is teaching a CWR course at the time the nomination is made or from any student who was enrolled in a CWR first-year composition course, regardless of whether he or she is enrolled in a CWR course at the time the nomination is made or the award is conferred.

The 2013 Ole Miss Common Reading Experience Essay Contest

Common Reading Experience Essay Contest

The Center for Writing and Rhetoric, the University Libraries, and the Department of Outreach are excited to announce the 2013 Common Reading Experience Essay contest for Craig Mullaney’s The Unforgiving Minute: A Soldier’s Education.


Write a Short Essay Using one of these Prompts:

  • Who are Mullaney’s most influential educators, both in and out of the classroom? What lessons do they impart? How do they impact Mullaney? Compare this to someone who has taught you and what was effective about your learning experience(s).
  • How does the study of literature and history inform Mullaney’s education? What roles do language –reading and writing – and thorough examination of the past play in his emerging sense of what it means to be a soldier, leader, and public servant?
  • The book is titled The Unforgiving Minute. Over the course of the book, people offer and withhold forgiveness, to and from one another, and to and from themselves. If applicable to you, relate forgiven and unforgiving moments from the book to your own life.

Submission Instructions

Original Essays must be At least 800 words and must be emailed to no later than Monday, 9/30.

In your email, please include the following:

  1. Name
  2. Phone Number
  3. Mailing Address
  4. Email Address
  5. Home Campus

Cash Prizes of $150 will be awarded to one winner in each category:

  • Oxford Campus Student
  • Booneville Campus Student
  • DeSoto Campus Student
  • Grenada Campus Student
  • Tupelo Campus Student
  • UMMC Student
  • Lafayette County High School Student
  • Oxford High School Student

2012 Winners:

William T. Jaynes
(University of Mississippi, Oxford)

Juan Acevedo
(University of Mississippi, Southaven)

Kaitlin Conwill
(University of Mississippi, Booneville)

Mackenzie Ross
(Oxford High School)

Congratulations to all of our winners!